A New Hope: Reaction

As I was watching Star Wars: A New Hope, there were a few things that I noticed that I had never paid attention to before. 

The first thing that got me thinking(and honestly kind of bugged me) was that Luke didn’t really have much of a reaction to seeing his home – the place he was raised and had lived since he was a baby – burned down. And all he did was look away when he saw his aunt and uncle’s corpses. I know he didn’t really like the place and he wanted to get away and go to the Academy with his friends, but they’re still his family. I know I would have been inconsolable for at least an hour if I found my aunt and uncle dead like that. Maybe it was part of they “guys don’t cry mentality.” But Luke still had a stronger reaction to Obi-Wan dying. Yes, he was Luke’s teacher, but they had only known each other for a few days.

In the original version/first make of this movie, when Han and Greedo (the insect/lizard looking dude) are in the cantina, Han did shoot first. Admittedly, Greedo was kind of a dick, so I can agree with Han’s actions on that. That doesn’t mean that I’m going to go around shooting people who try and take my money or my ship.

I’m not sure how many people remember this, but there’s a scene where Han talks with Jabba the Hutt about shooting Greedo and paying him back. In the original cut, that scene’s not there. I think it’s kind of interesting to see what that adds and takes away from the whole story.

Now, on to one of (if not the only) female character in the series – Princess Leia. In short, she’s a badass. She freely sasses Darth Vader and Tarkin (one of the major commanders in the Imperial fleet), and she takes her rescue into her own hands when the group gets trapped in the jail cell block. One thing a few people have also noticed is that Leia’s jail cell (2187)matches up with one of the newest characters from The Force Awakens – Finn, the former Stormtrooper, was originally FN-2187. I haven’t heard anything from the writers about whether or not this was intentional, but it’s a cool little detail nonetheless.

Another detail that people have been noticing more and more over the past couple of years is that one of the Stormtroopers on the Death Star knocks his head on the blast door to the control room as it’s going up. Once you see it for the first time, it’s something you’re always looking out for every time you watch the movie. This certainly wasn’t my first time noticing this, but I admit, I’ll forget about it for a while, and then something will pop up that reminds me that this was an event that they actually kept in the final production.

My next Star Wars based post will be about The Empire Strikes Back, so stay tuned for that!

Thanks for reading!

 

 

About mollyjeans

Creative and Professional Writing Major, video gamer, nerd extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Rambles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

